Piece For Flute, Oboe, Clarinet With Piano

Piece for Flute, Oboe and Clarinet With Piano Accompaniment in Four Movements (1990)
Approximate duration: 18 minutes

PDF Score



Angela Taylor, flute
Amy Barwan, oboe
Jessica Taylor, clarinet
Amy Briggs, piano

An ensemble piece for 3 wind instruments with piano accompaniment. Movement 1 follows a chord progression on the piano, and each instrument plays a melodic solo over the progression. After each instrument has a solo, the 3 parts are then combined, creating flowing contrapuntal lines that weave in and out of each other. Movement 2 is dynamically and harmonically static with the drone in the piano left hand part, while the instruments weave repeated melodies amongst themselves. Movement 3 is a trio without the piano. The harmonic progression of the introduction is elongated into a fast staccato variation, where unpredictable accents obscure the rhythmic predictability. Movement 4 showcases the ensemble’s ability to play intricate rhythmically content in unison, and as separate voices swapping out melodic material.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes